Elon, North Carolina|Friday, January 27, 2017
You are here: Home » Food » Chick-Fil-A At Elon: Voting Breakdown

Chick-Fil-A At Elon: Voting Breakdown 


SGA voted to take a stance against Chick-Fil-A last Thursday. With the resolution passing 35-11, it now sits on the desk of SGA President Darien Flowers. Flowers must now decide whether he wants to sign the resolution or veto it. If he vetoes it, it will go back to the SGA Senate where it will require two-thirds majority to overturn the veto.

If Flowers decides to veto it, supporters of Chick-Fil-A will have to convince several people to switch their votes. The following is information provided by SGA Secretary, Leah Burns. Here is how the SGA Senate voted:

S.B. 12-10.9 “A Bill to Oppose the Relationship Between Chick-Fil-A and Elon University”

Molly Shoop
Sam Kahane
Lauren Teltsch
Kevin Beach
Ben Waldon
Sean Patterson
Ally Briggs
Williem Prims
Joe Incorvia
Sarah Paille-Jansa
Lindsey Freedman
Lizzy Ruh
Jennifer Lauterbach
Vaughn Vreeland
Alex Bohannon
Ruth Robinson
Natasha Schettini
Avery Steadman
Cash Armstrong
Conor Janda
Margot Shoemaker
Tadas Rimkus
Joe Duncan
Kris Jiles
Greg Honan
Rebecca Tynes
Sarah Dodge
Alexandra Glenn
Ricky Rosati
Christine Mavraganis
Frances Hamilton
Kevin Lynch
Caroline Taylor
Ali Nogi
Tess Duncan

Brielle Sydor
Patrick Brown
Evan Cianchette
Alex Lake
Natalie Cuzmenco
Lauren Mckenzie
Caitlin Clarke
Kelly Finneran
Jay Binstein
Will Llamas
Danielle Prongay

The Elon administration will ultimately have the final say on Chick-Fil-A’s presence in the Lakeside Dining Hall.

About the author: Joe Bruno

Joe Bruno a senior, broadcast journalism major from Schwenksville, Pennsylvania and is currently serving his second term as News Director for Elon Local News. He has interned at WFMZ-TV in Allentown, PA and WMGM-TV in Atlantic City, NJ.

Add a Comment